Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

The Best Pick movie podcast

Welcome to BEST PICK, the podcast in which we watch, assess and discuss every Academy Award Best Picture winner in no particular order. Hosted by @MrJohnDorney, @ItsJessRegan and @TomSalinsky.

Contact us on Sign up to our mailing list

Aug 26, 2020

Best Pick with John Dorney, Jessica Regan and Tom Salinsky

Episode 68: Driving Miss Daisy (1989)

Released 26 August 2020

For this episode, we watched Driving Miss Daisy, written by Alfred Uhry from his play, directed by Bruce Beresford and starring Jessica Tandy (won), Morgan Freeman (nominated) and Dan Aykroyd (nominated). It also won for its screenplay and its make-up. Beresford was not even nominated as Best Director – very rare for a Best Picture winner.

Next time we will be discussing Wings. If you want to watch it before listening to the next episode you can buy the DVD or Blu-Ray on, or, or you can download it via iTunes (UK) or iTunes (USA).

To send in your questions, comments, thoughts and ideas, you can join our Facebook group, Tweet us on @bestpickpod or email us on You can also Tweet us individually, @MrJohnDorney, @ItsJessRegan or @TomSalinsky.

You should also visit our website at and sign up to our mailing list to get notified as soon as a new episode is released. Just follow this link:

If you enjoy this podcast and you'd like to help us to continue to make it, you can now support us on Patreon for as little as £2.50 per month. Thanks go to all of the following lovely people who have already done that.

James Murray, Jonquil Coy, Anna Elizabeth Rawles, Nick Hetherington, Michael Walker, Ms Rebecca K O’Dwyer, Ann Blake, Veryan Croggon, Tim Gowen, Richard Ewart, Kirsten Marie Oeveraas, Helle Rasmussen, Robert Orzalli, Olivia, Peter , Katy Espie, Joy Wilkinson, Kate Butler, Anna Joerschke, Ben Squires, Dave Kloc, Claire Creighton, Sally Grant, Sam Elliott, Annmarie Gray, Kelli Prime, Alex Frith, Lisa Gillespie, Alex Wilson, Anne Dellamaria, Michael Wilson, Simon James, Eloise Lowe, Judi Cox, Julie Dirksen, Michael Thomas, Della, Matheus Mocelin Carvalho, Rohan Newton, Jess McGinn, Elis Bebb, Anna Smith, Darren Williams, Catherine Murphy, Sian Thomas, Lucinda Baron von Parker, David Hanneford, Stuart Shepherd, Emmet Jackson, Emma Colvill, Eamonn Clarke, Anna Jackson, Martin Korshoj Petersen, Daina Aspin, Laura Lundy, Juan Ageitos, Sladjana Ivanis, Helen Cousins, Simon Ash, Kath , Johanna Commins, Flora, Drew Milloy, Jo B, Claire Carr, Elspeth Reay, Catherine Jewkes, Charlotte, Ruth, Henry Bushell, Zarah Daniel.